It is simple to buy and sell things from the comfort of your home with the help of online marketplaces. OfferUp is also one of them. This emerging platform enables you to buy and sell locally in the most reliable way. Millions of people currently use the service to get rid of items they no longer require. But there are several situations where having an OfferUp account is no longer necessary. One of the most frequent causes is that you could not have anything left to sell or buy. Even though the site is secure, you might not feel at ease with OfferUp having access to your data and transaction history online. So, you might be curious about how to delete or deactivate your OfferUp account.
Keep reading the article to learn how to delete your OfferUp account.
Can you completely delete your OfferUp account?
No, you cannot completely delete your OfferUp account. OfferUp only permits current users to deactivate their accounts, just like other contemporary services nowadays.
What is the Difference between Deactivation and Account Deletion?
Here is the main difference between deactivation and account deletion:
When you delete your account, all your data and personal information are removed from the application. You must sign-up again if you want to use OfferUp again in the future.
Your account becomes private when you deactivate it. Your data is still available on the site. But you may no longer search for your account details. In the future, you can easily activate your account without signing up again.
How to Delete Your Own OfferUp Account?
Whatever your reason for doing so, it’s a straightforward process to carry out on your own. You can quickly delete your own OfferUp account by following the instructions below:
Log into your account:
Log into your OfferUp account to get started. You must carry out these actions separately for each account if you manage several accounts of OfferUp.
You can use two-factor authentication, email address, or phone number to reset your login and password if you can no longer remember them.
Visit the deactivation form:
Open the deactivation form once you have successfully logged into your OfferUp account. You can submit your request to delete your account on this page.
Choose a justification for deleting your account on the deactivation form. Then click confirm button. A confirmation message that your account has been deactivated will be sent to you via email.
Check your email:
Verify that your account has been deleted by checking your email. In this email, you may read more about what to expect now that your account has been closed. There is a link there as well for future account reactivation.
You must also uninstall the OfferUp app from your smartphone and deactivate your OfferUp account from your password manager.
Remember that even though your account is inactive, the platform still has your data. You can directly contact OfferUp support to erase all of your data. You can still ask for any unfinished payments that you had at the time of deletion to be finished.
How do you delete an OfferUp account on the phone?
An OfferUp account on your phone app cannot be deactivated. You must perform this using a web browser, whether on a computer or the internet search feature on your device. Through the OfferUp phone app, you can only delete listings and execute transactions.
Can you permanently delete an OfferUp account?
You can’t permanently delete an OfferUp account without first getting in touch with support. But you can deactivate your account so that nobody can see your seller profile. Be aware that you won’t be able to buy or sell on the platform if you decide to deactivate your account.
What happens when you delete an OfferUp account?
Your data is removed from the public platform when you delete an OfferUp account. It indicates that your seller information, previous transactions, and more are concealed and do not appear in the search. You can still reactivate your account by checking in with the same information in the future.
How can you reactivate your account?
You can activate your OfferUp account anytime. The process is as easy as logging into the application. Then you can start buying or selling the items as you had done in the past.
How Long Does It Take to Deactivate an OfferUp account?
Your OfferUp account’s deactivation process takes a few minutes to complete.
How Do I Remove a Phone Number from OfferUp?
OfferUp allows you to remove the phone number from the account. Follow the instructions below to do so:
- Open the OfferUp application.
- In the bottom-right corner, tap the Account tab.
- Then click the Profile tab.
- Select the Confirmed phone option from the menu.
- Click Edit to change the number or remove it altogether.
You can modify other details on this page, like your email address, display name, password, etc.
Is it worthwhile to stop using OfferUp and deactivate your account?
In some cases, stopping using an OfferUp account is not worthwhile. For example, deactivating your account will automatically remove any listings that might still be active and prevent other users from seeing your seller page. But it’s always a good idea to deactivate your account if you’ve decided you no longer want to sell or purchase through OfferUp.
What is The Purpose of Adding an OfferUp Promotion? How Do I Cancel a Promotion on OfferUp?
When users use OfferUp’s promotion tool, their listing is moved well ahead of others who do not promote their goods.
From the Pricing page of your OfferUp listing, you can remove a promotion for a specific product.
Also Read these Articles
- How to Delete a Fetch Rewards Account
- How do I Permanently Delete my Adobe Account
- How can I Delete my Groupme Account
- How do i Delete My EA Account in 2022
Concisely speaking, OfferUp does not allow you to delete your account completely. You can only deactivate it. The deactivation process is quite simple. One advantage of not deleting the account is that you can reactivate it anytime. You don’t need to sign-up again.
If you still want to delete your OfferUp account, you can talk to OfferUp Customer Service.